Olympian Nails: Missy Franklin

Olympic fever is in full swing! I’ve been glued to the TV (and the computer…) as much as possible to catch my favorite events. While I love alot of the sports in the summer Olympics, swimming holds a special place in my heart. I was a competitive swimmer for years before having to retire due to shoulder injuries. So, when I saw that Missy Franklin, a member of the US Olympic swim team, tweeted a picture of her fun patriotic nails, I just had to do them myself!

Missy’s nails were fairly easy to recreated. I used L’Oreal Jet Set to Paris for the blue nails and wet n wild Red Red for the red nails. As far as the flags go, they’re very easy to do. I used Ulta Snow White as a base then added red strips with a red nail art polish. Then I used a Q-Tip soaked in 100% acetone and removed the white and red from the tips.

I filled the tips in with blue and instead of drawing stars on my nails like Missy, I used wet n wild Fergie nail color in Hollywood Walk of Fame for the gold stars.

This manicure is so fun and easy to do. It’s the perfect manicure to wear while watching the games! For more Olympic nail art ideas check out my Olympic Nail Ideas post. And check below the jump for more swatches of this manicure 🙂

I’d love to hear your thoughts on the Olympics so far! I’m really enjoying watching the swimming and gymnastics plus the women’s beach volleyball match yesterday was intense!

 

 

 

 

8 responses to “Olympian Nails: Missy Franklin

  1. I bet they all went out and got manis together as a team bonding experience before the games! A lot of them look like they got gel treatments, which is awesome for swimmers who are in the water all the time…

    • Getting nails done together is the ultimate bonding experience! I think a lot of them did go with the gel nail polish option. Chlorine is not kind to nail polish!

  2. Pingback: Olympian Nails: Dana Vollmer | The Daily Varnish

  3. Pingback: Olympian Nails: Coralie Balmy | The Daily Varnish

  4. Pingback: Olympian Nails: Allison Schmitt and Elizabeth Beisel | The Daily Varnish

  5. Pingback: CNN + The Daily Varnish | The Daily Varnish

  6. Pingback: Medal Worthy Manicures

  7. Pingback: Nail Art: Election Nail Ideas! | The Daily Varnish

Leave a comment