Nail Art: French Flag Manicure (Bastille Day 2013!)

Bastille Day NailsHappy Bastille Day!

No, I’m not French. But I’m a tad bit obsessed with Europe and France in particular. What can I say? Paris stole my heart.

Last year I did a manicure for Bastille Day so I wanted to continue that tradition on this year.

After alot of unnecessary contemplation I decided to do a French flag manicure. It’s a super simple look to achieve. I started off with a coat of L’Oreal Jet Set to Paris. I let that dry then used tape to block off the bottom third of my nail and applied 2 coats of Ulta Snow White. I again let my nails dry, blocked off two-thirds of my nail with tape and applied Sally Hansen Diamonds and Rubies. I find this works really well and if there is any bleeding of colors I used a striping brush and white polish to clean up the edges.

At first I had a flag on all 5 nails. I decided that was WAY too much. I opted for solid colors on the pinky and ring finger and did glitter (Forever21 Tinsel Town and NCLA United States of Glitter) on the thumb nail.

There is nothing in particular that I do to celebrate Bastille Day (I’m not French, after all…) but I grab onto any excuse to do a themed mani! I have made an effort this week to read a book called An Attempt at Exhausting a Place in Paris. It has nothing to do with the storming of the Bastille or the French Revolution but it does chronicle the lives of ordinary Parisians in Place Saint-Sulpice.

As always there are swatches below the jump. I hope everyone has a fabulous fourteenth of July!

Alli

An Attempt at Exhausting a Place in Paris French Flag Nail Art France Nail Art Forever 21 Tinsel Town and NCLA United States of Glitter

4 responses to “Nail Art: French Flag Manicure (Bastille Day 2013!)

  1. I love it. That is really pretty. The glitter accent is perfect with the red, silver, and blue glitters. You’ve been to France?!!! Lucky you. I want to go, just once. When I was growing up I was sure I was going to live there, so I took 3 years of French in high school, now I live in Texas and use Spanish nearly every day on my job! I had to learn Spanish on the go to keep from having to always find an interpreter. Funny, I haven’t spoken a word of French since classes, and never even made it to Canada much less France.

    • I have been to France. It’s a beautiful country. Definitely worth the trip!

      I also took Spanish in high school AND college and can’t speak a word of it. But, here in Charlotte, Spanish isn’t something we use…ever!

    • Same here – I grew up certain that one day I would live in Paris… and I did. Hope you follow me! 😉 Check the documentary Douce France(s) on YouTube, it will show you just what you are missing. 🙂

      • Loved your many with only two flags – four was really OTT. And that lovely glitter is another one I’ll never have… . Where can I find instructions on how to make my own glitters? 😀

Leave a comment