Nail Art: Toothpick Stripes (plus a how-to)

Toothpick StripesLately I’ve become a bit obsessed with mixing neons and black and white. I have a noen pink clutch that I absolutely adore so I’ve been carrying that with a couple black and white dresses I have. It’s a great way to summer-ize otherwise dull pieces.

Last week I was wearing wet n wild Pin’ Em Slater when a lightbulb went off in my head; hey, you can mix neons with black and white on your nails too! Duh Alli.

I wanted to do something sort of geometric since the yellow polish is so bright but, quite honestly, I just didn’t feel like laboring over nail art. In an attempt to cheat I tried using a toothpick to make stripes. It worked out surprisingly well.

Doing stripes this way will not give you a perfect stripe or even edges. But the  inexact looking stripes made the manicure feel less fussy and care free. I liked it quite a bit.

For exactly how I did this and additional swatches check below the jump!

Alli

JulieG Toothpick Stripes Nail ArtWhat you need:

  1. At least 2 polish colors of your choice (I used Ulta Snow White and JulieG Black Sheep)
  2. A toothpick. I found the kind that are sort of flat work better than the very round toothpicks.
  3. A top coat (I used Rush 60 Second top coat)

How to:

  1. Paint your nail (or nails!) the base color of your choice. Let it dry COMPLETELY.
  2. Apply a small amount of nail polish to one end of the toothpick. One or two coats on the toothpick is more than enough.
  3. Then just place the toothpick on the nail and rotate it on the curve of the nail to get a (very) imperfect stripe.
  4. Wait for the stripes to dry completely before applying your top coat.

This was super easy and I really loved the result. It’s fun and just screams summer time!

wet n wild Toothpick Stripes Nail Art Toothpick Stripes Nail Art Toothpick Stripes Nail Art 2 Toothpick Stripes Nail Art MACRO

Leave a comment