Nail Art: St. Patrick’s Day Shamrocks

St. Patrick’s Day is one of my favorite holidays. It comes with zero stress and involves alcohol and food. How can that be bad?

The easiest way to wear green on St. Patrick’s Day is definitely with nail polish so I wanted to do a themed mani. For the green I used Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Going Green and for the white I used Ulta Snow White. I free handed the shamrock. I just made 3 hearts with the large end of a bobby pin (works just like a dotting tool…) and drew the line with a toothpick. Simple and sweet!

There are a coupe more pictures below the jump.

7 responses to “Nail Art: St. Patrick’s Day Shamrocks

  1. Super well done. I love the white background with the green. If you have a steady hand you could outline with a nail art pen the shamrock in orange and have the colors of the Irish flag! I thought all week what I was going to do and then just bailed tonight at the end – it’s cold and I did not want to get out from under the covers to do nails and toes! So I never went digging for more greens than what I had out last night from a couple of sacks I had here needing to be entered into my database. I ended up OK however. I have Revlon new Colorstay (which I really am loving – it does last almost 11 days on my fingers with a fresh coat mid way) Bonsai on my fingernails and am going to stamp a gold Shamrock tomorrow AM on an accent finger. On my toes is another Revlon Colorstay in fabulous Rainforest! It’s a dark green megawatt shimmer. But because it was all the way at my toes and I wanted that shimmer to really show from afar – I put some opal mix of some Sinful glitter in clear gel base on it. Pulled the green to having a tish more turq to it – but still looks green – I should have waited until AM and found my gold flakes, or my green CND effects maybe. But it will do. I almost can bet I will be changing out of the greens soon because they will smack of holiday past ASAP by Sunday and I have a slew of untrieds here – to the point I am on restriction (self imposed) from buying anymore polish right now. I have to enjoy what I have and also figure out a way to purge my stash and not feel purge remorse once friends are gone.

    • Interesting you’ve had good luck with the Revlon Colorstay. I picked one up a couple weeks ago, tried it, and it didn’t wear extremely well. I haven’t posted about it yet because I wanted to give it another try. Maybe after I take off my green polish today I’ll give it another run.

  2. Pingback: Alli’s Favs: China Glaze Emerald Sparkle « The Daily Varnish

  3. LOVE! So cute! If wouldn’t have worked out St. Patty’s day, this would have been a great idea!

  4. Pingback: Nail Art: Top 10 of 2012 (+ top DIYs!) | The Daily Varnish

  5. Pingback: Nail Art: Shimmer and a Shamrock | The Daily Varnish

Leave a comment