OPI The Impossible

OPI The ImpossibleAt this point I think it’s safe to say I am officially an OPI Liquid Sand fan girl. I was super skeptical about the whole liquid sand thing but after really loving Stay the Night, Can’t Let Go and now The Impossible there’s just no denying I’ve been won over!

I picked up the Mariah Carey collection mini set which includes all 4 liquid sand polishes from the collection. The Impossible was probably the polish I was least looking forward to trying. I was worried I was going to have a similar reaction to The Impossible as I had with Revlon Fire Fox. Pink is such a classic nail color I thought perhaps the trendy texture might just look strange. I was wrong!

The Impossible is a bright pink with small and large lighter pink glitter. I’ve seen swatches of this polish that also had star glitter. But I did 3 coats on 10 nails and never ran across any star glitter. So…I’m not sure what’s up with that.

I had the same problem with this polish as I’ve had with the other liquid sand polishes I have tried. After a day or so the glitter loses its color and turns silver. That being said, liquid sand polishes wear incredibly well.

If any of y’all have tried The Impossible I’d love to know if your bottle had the star glitter. I find that mystery rather odd!

As always, there are more swatches below the jump.

Alli

OPI The Impossible 3 OPI The Impossible 2 OPI The Impossible MACRO

24 responses to “OPI The Impossible

  1. It looks like those cinnamon jelly hearts they sell around Valentine’s Day. And now I’ve got a craving. Great.

  2. I’m kind of glad the star glitter is almost nonexistent in this, I feel like with the color ii can look a little too youthful for my taste. looks great on you!

  3. I have the full size bottle and mine has the star glitters, but I avoid getting them on my nails because I think they cheapen how cool the polish is.

  4. How is the liquid sand to take off? is it as bad as a glitter polish??

  5. shortandsweetintexas

    I love how this looks on you! I’ve seen swatches with the star glitter too but I prefer it without. The stars seem to make it kind of immature looking.

  6. I was skeptical myself at first too. I wore this polish on my toes last week and was really fascinated by it. The way it shimmers and sparkles yet still remains matte makes it so fun to look at! It feels kind of interesting too 🙂

  7. Ah this is SO pretty!! 🙂

  8. Maybe the reason you didn’t get any star glitter in your mani is because the mini version of The Impossible doesn’t have it. I’ve read a few other people complaining of the same problem with their mini sets.

  9. I definitely like the color and texture, but I am kind of wishing that it didn’t have the larger hex glitter… overall its always hard to be critical on a color because you and Katie always have stunning swatches. 🙂

  10. I’m on my 3rd bottle of ‘The Impossible’ and I’m hooked! First time I put on 4 coats before a star showed up, but then they started showing up more. By 5th coat about 7 stars were on my nails. I noticed the glitter turning silver too the first time I used it, and wasn’t that crazy about the texture and un-glossy look, but next time I put it on I decided to break the rule and put a few coats of clear top coat over it and every thing changed! Not only did the glitter and stars stay red, it takes on a completely different look, like that of a candy-apple red car finish! Once those clear coats were on the glitter was so bright and sparkly and shiny, and you could see into the layers of stars and glitter. They were gorgeous! The very BEST part of this polish is, while a pain in the butt to get it off, it stays on like acrylic nails! My polish usually starts to chip after one or two showers but this stuff stayed on and gorgeous for 2 weeks! It NEVER chipped and I only took it off because my nails were growing out. My nails are thin and weak so this polish is enabling me to actually get my nails to a nice length, and everyone comments how pretty it is. The secret is: one coat of base coat, 3 or 4 coats of ‘The Impossible,’ then 3 coats of clear. I know that is a lot but this stuff dries so fast and the long lasting, gorgeous result is totally worth the effort.

    • These polishes do wear incredibly well!

      I tried a different liquid sand polish with a clear top coat on top but didn’t love it. I’ll have to try it with this one. Thanks for the suggestion 🙂

Leave a comment