Hard Candy Jelly Bean Blue

Hard Candy Jelly Bean BlueWhen I heard Hard Candy was discontinuing their (then) current nail polish line in favor of a new line of polishes I was kind of sad. I absolutely love Hard Candy Mr. Wrong and it would no longer be available. But when I saw the promo image for the new colors Hard Candy was going to release I was pretty excited. I was even more excited when I finally saw the display at my local Wal-Mart!

Hard Candy split their new polish collection into 5 categories  Crushed Chromes, Itsy Glitzy, Crystal Confetti, Glitterazi and Candy Sprinkles. I really wanted to try one of the Candy Sprinkles polishes. They look nothing like any polishes I have in my current collection. I pretty quickly decided on Jelly Bean Blue. I just love blue nail polishes and it looked so pretty in the bottle.

Jelly Bean Blue is a light baby blue with dark blue and black glitter. I was more or less sold at the black glitter part!

The formula is a tad bit thin. I used 3 coats in my swatches and as you can see, the glitter from the different layers of polish show through.

Honestly, I didn’t so much love this on its own though I did (after a serious manicure evolution…) find a way to wear it that I really loved!

My first attempt, if you will, was to layer Jelly Bean Blue over Sally Hansen Barracuda for an accent nail. I ended up more or less hating that manicure. The blues clashed. But I did like the way Jelly Bean Blue looked over Barracuda. So, I took off Barracuda and replaced it with butter LONDON Royal Navy thinking it would bring out the dark blue glitter in Jelly Bean Blue. I ended up loving the result (even though most people who commented on my nails weren’t so sure).

Below the jump there are additional swatches of Jelly Bean Blue plus swatches of all the stages of my manicure evolution!

Alli

 

Hard Candy Jelly Bean Blue 2 Hard Candy Jelly Bean Blue 3 Hard Candy Jelly Bean Blue MACRO Hard Candy Jelly Bean Blue MACRO 2 Hard Candy Jelly Bean Blue Bottle Sally Hansen Barracuda Hard Candy Jelly Bean Blue Hard Candy Jelly Bean Blue and butter LONDON Royal Navy

One response to “Hard Candy Jelly Bean Blue

  1. Pingback: Maybelline Color Show Drops of Jade | The Daily Varnish

Leave a Reply

