butter LONDON The Black Knight

butter LONDON The Black KnightThis polish is such a long time lemming for me! I could just never justify picking it up. And this is when the inevitable “but” comes in. Last month Ulta had butter LONDON polishes as one of their “beauty steals.” Usually butter LONDON polishes retail for $15 but Ulta had them for $9. None of the polishes from the Sweetie Shop collection were really calling my name so I decided to finally pick up The Black Knight even though it’s not technically season appropriate. And really, who could resist this polish once you see it in the bottle!? Not me!

The Black Knight has varying shades of glitter (magenta, blue, red, gold…) suspended in an almost black jelly base. I have nothing like this in my collection and I just love the glitter combination in a black base. I’m really kind of obsessed with this polish.

That being said the formula, if using this polish alone, isn’t awesome. The jelly base requires 3 coats to reach full opacity. That’s alot of glitter on the nail that requires multiple thick layers of top coat to smooth out. Honestly, I would not use this polish alone.

So, to solve this problem, I used one coat of The Black Knight over 2 coats of JulieG Black Sheep and was absolutely thrilled with the results!

Below the jump there are additional swatches of The Black Knight on its own as well as how I actual wore it, over JulieG Black Sheep.

Alli

 

butter LONDON The Black Knight 2 butter LONDON The Black Knight 3 butter LONDON The Black Knight MACRO butter LONDON The Black Knight MACRO 2 butter LONDON The Black Knight over JulieG Black Sheep 5 butter LONDON The Black Knight over JulieG Black Sheep 4 butter LONDON The Black Knight over JulieG Black Sheep 3 butter LONDON The Black Knight over JulieG Black Sheep butter LONDON The Black Knight over JulieG Black Sheep 2 butter LONDON The Black Knight over JulieG Black Sheep MACRO butter LONDON The Black Knight over JulieG Black Sheep MACRO 2

7 responses to “butter LONDON The Black Knight

  1. This is a gorgeous polish! I love how many colors it has.

  2. I love that one too! It almost looks like the night sky with stars twinkling. How pretty!

  3. I heard that “Private Show” by Pure Ice is a dupe for Black Knight. You can purchase it at Wal-Mart.

  4. This is one of my lemmings!

Leave a Reply

