Revlon Emerald City (+ a comparison to OPI Here Today…Aragon Tomorrow SUEDE)

Revlon Emerald CityLets just be real about this. I’m never rocking a matte manicure unless I was seriously running late and needed a quick manicure. It’s not that I don’t like matte polishes, because I do, they’re just not something I wear often.

This time the lucky winner was Revlon Emerald City! Not too long ago I wore Fire Fox, which was released along with Emerald City as part of Revlon’s Suede Rhapsody collection, and ended up just loving it. The finish of these polishes is pretty unique. It’s not a matte finish, but it’s not a shiny finish either. It’s somewhere right in between.

Emerald City is a deep emerald green packed with microglitter (that matches my current handbag perfectly!). Considering the 2013 Pantone color of the year is emerald this polish is right on trend!

This polish applied beautifully in two coats and dried quickly. At least to the touch. It will dent for an hour or so after application.

If I had to pick between Fire Fox and Emerald City I’d definitely go with Emerald City. The finish on Fire Fox didn’t look quite right. But I really love the suede finish on Emerald City.

Way back in the fall of 2010 OPI released a suede version of Here Today…Aragon Tomorrow. The nail polish community was going crazy over it but it was difficult to find. I was lucky enough to spot it at Beauty Brands but never saw it at any other retailer (and it is nowhere to be found online at this point). Emerald City, while not a dupe, is a good alternative to Here Today…Aragon Tomorrow SUEDE and is part of Revlon’s permanent nail polish line.

Along with more swatches of Emerald City, there is a comparison of Emerald City and Here Today…Aragon Tomorrow SUEDE below the jump!

Alli

 

Revlon Emerald City 3 Revlon Emerald City 2 Revlon Emerald City MACRO 2 Revlon Emerald City MACRO

 

OPI Here Today Aragon Tomorrow Revlon Emerald City OPI Here Today Revlon Emerald City

4 responses to “Revlon Emerald City (+ a comparison to OPI Here Today…Aragon Tomorrow SUEDE)

  1. I love this color! I bought it last year and use it pretty often. Have you tried it with topcoat? It looks great! I love it with or without though I think I prefer it better shiny…

Leave a Reply

