Nail Art: Top 10 of 2012 (+ top DIYs!)

nailartDIY

2011 was the first year I really got into nail art. This year my love of nail art has definitely grown. I still stick to relatively simple nail art that requires no special tools. Below the jump are my favorite 10 creations from this year.

Also below the jump are my favorite DIY projects of 2012. I really got into nail related DIY projects over the past year. It’s amazing the things you can do with stuff you already have around the house!

I can’t wait to see what 2013 brings!

Alli

Olympic Nail Art 2

Olympic Rings: The summer Olympics in London were such a big part of 2012. This was the perfect manicure to celebrate the event no matter what country you were cheering for!

St. Patrick's Day Manicure 2012

St. Patrick’s Day Shamrocks: St. Patrick’s Day is a fabulous holiday and this manicure was equally as fabulous! It was perfect for the festivities but not over the top.

Cloud Nail Art

Clouds: This manicure was just cute and sweet. The inspiration came from a CVS circular (go figure!).

Nail Art Patriotic Polka Dots

Patriotic Polka Dots: It’s pretty obvious I have a thing for polka dots! I liked this so much because it was a slightly different take on a polka dot manicure plus the patriotic colors were perfect for everything from the Olympics to the election!

Chanel Nail Art

Chanel: Over the summer that awful border nails trend was happening. Well leave it to Chanel to come up with a better, more flattering way, to wear the trend! This was a perfect summer manicure.

Acid Wash Nail Art

Acid Wash: This was such a fun manicure! It was unique and easy to do. I even did it in Auburn colors (shocking…I know!).

Tiger Stripes and Glitter 2

Tiger Stripes & Glitter: I’m sure y’all get sick of hearing me talk about Auburn…but what can I say. I can’t help it! Not only did I got to school there it’s quite the tradition in my family. Due to this Auburn is the inspiration for alot of my nail art. I did this for an SEC kick off even for the 2012 football season. Auburn didn’t have a great season but this manicure was perfect!

Essie Baroque Nail Art

Going Baroque: I fell hard for the baroque trend in fashion and this was one of the way I translated it into nail art.

Ruffian Manicure

Ruffian Manicure: I adore the way this manicure turned out. It was somehow elegant and chic yet a bit edgy. And it was super easy to do.

New Year Manicure

New Year’s Eve Manicure: Glitter explosion! I love it. And I love the 2013 on the ring finger. I can’t think of a better manicure to ring in the New Year!

Nail Polish RackThis year I got really into DIY projects. But my absolute favorite has to be my DIY nail polish rack. I made it from hot glue and foam board. It’s been almost a year and it’s still in perfect condition.

Some of my other favorite DIY projects include my DIY dotting tools, DIY gold flake top coat and DIY nail polish strips.

I’m looking forward to see what DIY projects I come up with in 2013!

7 responses to “Nail Art: Top 10 of 2012 (+ top DIYs!)

  1. shortandsweetintexas

    I love the cloud nail art!

  2. Great choices! I adore the black matte and gold ruffian- awesome date night nail. Thanks for all the DIY tips this year, saved me tons of $$$ since I didn’t buy one Ciate kit because of it 🙂

  3. You both have done a fab job this yr! Here’s to what 2013 brings! Looks like we can count on a lot of greens, more textures, pastels hit hard early in the yr and oh my – I cannot wait to see the China glaze 2013 holo collection!

  4. I love your nail art! My favorite is the clouds. I tried the Ruffian mani (yours looks SO good) and it made my nails look short and stumpy. Go figure! I do have pretty short nails though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

