Nail Art: Ruffian Manicure

Ruffian ManicureYou know what? I am SO GLAD I finally gave a Ruffian manicure a try. It’s been something I’ve wanted to try for a long time but it kept getting pushed down my “nail art ideas” list. One reason for that was because I didn’t have a gold polish that was reflective or yellow enough. And then OPI GoldenEye came along. It seemed like a sign. So I just have to give it a try.

This is very easy to do as long as you have the right polishes. Along with GoldenEye I used Maybelline Express Finish in Black Onyx (just a basic black creme) and a matte top coat.

First I applied 3 to 4 coats of GoldenEye focusing on getting the color opaque at the cuticles. Once that dried I applied 3 coats of Black Onyx (it was opaque after 2 but I knew I was going to be using a matte top coat which can cause the color to bald) and simply free handed the edges. Once the black polish dried I topped it off with butter LONDON Matte Finish Shine Free Topcoat and that was it.

Truthfully, I wasn’t sure I’d like this manicure so I only did it on one hand at first. I ended up loving it and completed the manicure so I could wear it for a couple days. So many people commented on my nails and thought I used nail stickers. No need for nail stickers when it’s so easy to achieve on your own 🙂

I’d love to know if this is something you’ve tried or if you might be giving this a try in the future!

When I think of a classic Ruffian manicure I think yellow gold and black ala the Ruffian MAC collection. But the color possibilities are endless! I really want to try silver and a dark purple next.

As always, there are (many) more swatches below the jump including what my nails looked like prior to adding the matte top coat.

Alli

Ruffian Manicure 3 Ruffian Manicure 2 Ruffian Manicure shiny Ruffian Manicure 6 Ruffian Manicure 5 Ruffian Manicure 4

17 responses to “Nail Art: Ruffian Manicure

  1. It’s a gorgeous manicure Alli! Although I kinda prefer the one without the matte top coat. Either way, they look great and I can’t wait to try them!

    • I quite liked it without the matte top coat as well but really wanted to give a full blown Ruffian mani a try. I do like that the matte top coat gives even more contrast between the gold and black.

  2. I love this look and haven’t worn it in ages. I always veer off towards complicated nail art but simplicity is beautiful. I might do one again with silver & navy.

  3. The black and gold looks so classy together!

  4. That is such a beautful, classy manicure.

  5. Gorgeous Alli! I think I will have to try this!

  6. That is gorgeous! I want to try this too. No pics of Goldeneye on its own? 🙂 I just got it and am wearing it as a pedi, I love it. Also wanted to give a shout out to an NC girl. I live in SoCal now but I went to Carolina undergrad and NCSU vet school (I grew up in Charlotte). 🙂 Love your blog!

  7. Hahaha, I forgot… I think YOUR post was the one that made me pick up Goldeneye. 🙂

  8. Stunning! I was inspired by you to try one too, but I used Revlon Royal instead of black. Mine doesn’t look nearly as clean as this, but I like the color combination a lot.

  9. Pingback: Nail Art: Top 10 of 2012 (+ top DIYs!) | The Daily Varnish

Leave a Reply

