Revlon Fire Fox

One night I was running late as usual for a date with the boy. I had already settled on a navy dress but had yet to get around to doing my nails. Clearly I needed a super fast red manicure. When I need a super fast red manicure the first thing that I go for is a matte polish. They dry fast and don’t require a top coat! The only polish I had that fit the bill was Revlon Fire Fox. It was originally released as part of Revlon’s Suede Rhapsody collection but has since been added to Revlon’s permanent line.

Fire Fox is a cherry red with red and magenta microglitter. Application was a breeze. I used just 2 coats. As with all matte finish nail polishes this dried very quickly though it will dent for an hour or so after application.

I actually really love this color, but I’m not sure that I like the finish. Generally I’m a fan of matte polishes, but I feel like there is something off about this polish. It may just be that red is such a classic polish color it looks odd with such a trendy finish. I definitely prefer this polish with a top coat. I included a picture of that below the jump (along with more swatches).

Sometimes good manicure come from running crazy late!

 

 

 

 

7 responses to “Revlon Fire Fox

  1. Pingback: Revlon Fire Fox with Essie Good to Go! top coat | The Daily Varnish

  2. Oooh! Like this one and I am not a huge fan of matte – usually end up putting a shiny topper over it after half day. I have not seen these Revlon Matte suedes.

  3. It’s a beautiful color but the “suede” effect doesn’t go far enough to look intentional, you know?

  4. Pingback: OPI The Impossible | The Daily Varnish

  5. Pingback: Revlon Emerald City (+ a comparison to OPI Here Today…Aragon Tomorrow SUEDE) | The Daily Varnish

Leave a Reply

