DIY: Baroque Nail Art

It’s becoming pretty obvious that the fall trend I’m most into is baroque. I did a take on baroque nail art that I absolutely loved. But I was still trying to think of away to do a more literal interpretation of the trend.

Finally I’ve come up with a way to get more of that intricate look that really defines baroque style. And no special nail art tools are required!

For a how to on how to get this look check below the jump!

What you need:

  1. A deep creme for a base coat and a metallic polish to create the pattern. (I used Revlon Plum Night and Funky Fingers Edward’s Volvo)
  2. A paper towel (seriously!)
  3. A piece of paper.
  4. A top coat.

How to:

  1. Apply the base color and let it dry completely.
  2. Apply the metallic nail polish to the back of the paper towel. Before patting the paper towel on the nail tap it several times on a piece of paper to remove any excess.
  3. Next just dab the paper towel on the nail until you are happy with the pattern you’ve created. Repeat on the rest of the nails.
  4. Apply a top coat and that’s it!

Super simple but looks really difficult. My favorite kind of nail art!

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this look and technique and whether or not you’re going to give it a try.

12 responses to “DIY: Baroque Nail Art

  1. This is fabulous! I have done the saran-wrap technique but can see how this technique esp with use of rich colors will give a baroque/brocade look. Brocade is so popular this fall. I too have thought about how to translate that to nails; Everything I though of has been gradient involved or ended up looking like stained glass. I can see you could do this same technique with 3 shades easily being careful to not ‘over build’ the look of course. Brilliant! Thanks!

  2. love this! looks almost galaxy effect. I am a bit scared of the paper towel- won’t it stick to the nail or absorb too much polish or transfer its design? how is the cleanup afterwards? I am more tempted to try your other method with the wet sponge. they both look fantastic

    • The paper towel won’t stick as long as you let your base color dry completely (I learned the hard way!). I had basically no cleanup with this method because I painted such a small amount of polish on the paper towel for each nail.

  3. This is stunning! I’m loving the look and have been collecting metallics and chromes like crazy! Thank you so much for the idea. My fans will love it! ~Ana

  4. I’m totally going to give this a try.! Your mani looks awesome!

  5. Pingback: Perfect Pair: wet n wild Haze of Love & OPI Spark de Triomphe | The Daily Varnish

  6. So pretty! Simple with a sophisticated effect. Nice!

  7. Pingback: DIY: Eyeshadow Sponge Tip Applicator Manicure | The Daily Varnish

  8. Pingback: Jesse’s Girl Confetti (+ a shimmery gradient!) | The Daily Varnish

Leave a Reply

