Nail Art: Pink Gradient & Polka Dots

Up until this manicure I wasn’t total sold on the gradient, or ombre manicure. I did a post awhile back on how to do a DIY ombre manicure and while I liked the result I wasn’t itching to do it again. Finally I decided to give it another try and I’m so glad I did!

For this manicure I used Ulta Snow White as a base and used just one color (Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Caribbean Coral) to create the color fade. Below the jump there are pictures after I did this step and I loved the way it turned out. But me being me I figured, hey, why not add some polka dots to the mix.

Using a DIY dotting tool I added white polka dots to all the nails except my ring finger where I instead added polka dots using Caribbean Coral.

I really loved the way this manicure turned out. The pink fading into the white with the polka dots was a really cool effect and super simple to do. I wore the crap out of this manicure! I even tweeted a picture of it. Finally I had to take it off and that made me very sad. I will definitely be doing similar nail art projects in the future.

I’d love to know what you think about this manicure! Below the jump there are, as I said, pictures of my nails with just the ombre effect as well as more picture of the finished product.

11 responses to “Nail Art: Pink Gradient & Polka Dots

  1. what is the difference between a gradient and a ombre mani?? aren’t they the same thing? im confused lol

    • They are more or less used interchangeably. Even then, it could be a gradient like I did here or a manicure where you use a slightly different color on each nail to create the gradient or ombre.

      It really is confusing!

  2. ahhh, im just going to call these mani’s “confusion” hahaha

  3. I love it with the polka dots!

  4. Gorgeous manicure. Goes straight into folder of ‘gee, I wish I could do that’

  5. shortandsweetintexas

    I love this look! Will definitely have to try it.

  6. This one is great! I am not a big fan of purple but this Coral rocks!! Thank your for the inspiration. Will try with a new brand I found called IrisColors-Touch of Heaven, in a color called California. It’s an amazing aqua color that works with my wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

