Celeb Nails: Kate Beckinsale

Listen up…..I have found a reason to pull those matte top coats out of the closet!

I’ve had a serious girl crush on Katie Beckinsale for as long as I can remember. My crush is not founded in a love for her acting but a love for her style. She always looks so put together! Anyway, when I saw photos of her from the Total Recall premiere I immediately noticed her nails. Her manicure was a spin on a traditional French manicure. To see the original click here!

This manicure was very easy to recreate. All you need is a black creme nail polish and a matte top coat. I used Maybelline Express Finish in Black Onyx and butter LONDON Matte Finish Shine Free Top Coat (that’s a mouth full!).

I painted all my nails with Black Onyx and let them dry completely. Then I added the matte top coat. After that had completely dried I once again took Black Onyx and free handed the French tips (this could also be done with a regular clear top coat). And that’s it!

Though this manicure is easy to do, I think it looks difficult. Plus, I really love mixing textures.

I’d love to hear what you think about this manicure and whether or not you’ll be giving it a try.

There are more swatches below the jump! Now that I have Kate’s nails, I’ll continue to work on getting Kate’s hair…

 

 

 

13 responses to “Celeb Nails: Kate Beckinsale

  1. So well executed! It’s been on my list of things to try but I’ve been waiting until summer is over to venture out in it.

  2. Saw this on Pinterest awhile ago & its amazing!!! Going to have to try!!

  3. I like this a lot……….imma have to get some matte top coat

  4. This looks so gorgeous, I love it!

  5. Awesome! I did something like this myself a while back. Although instead of using black crème with a matte topcoat, I used e.l.f. “Metal Madness” and used a black striper for the French tips.

  6. Pingback: Celeb Nails: Jessica Biel | The Daily Varnish

  7. Pingback: How to make your Essie Mirror Metallics look perfect (seriously) | The Daily Varnish

  8. Pingback: Nail Art: The Sideways French Manicure | The Daily Varnish

Leave a Reply

