Nail Art: Patriotic Polka Dots

This being June 6th, better known as the anniversary of D-Day, I thought a little patriotic nail art would be perfect. The inspiration for this manicure was actually M&M’s. Yes really!  When we had our little family cookout for Memorial Day my mom had set out some red, white and blue M&M’s. I even tweeted a picture of the candy.

I used Ulta Snow White as my base and with the large dotting tool I made for my DIY Dotting Tool post, I used Snow White, OPI Perfectly Red and Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Pacific Blue to layer large polka dots. The key to this look is to layer the colors in multiple layers.

This is one of my favorite manicures I have done recently. It’s just fun and festive. And despite looking kind of complicated, it’s very simple. And of course, the color combinations are endless!

There are alot more pictures below the jump 🙂

16 responses to “Nail Art: Patriotic Polka Dots

  1. Gorgeous! Makes me wish our flag had more than two colours! (I am Canadian). How did you make such perfect big dots?

    I have to try this! 🙂

    • I just used one of my dotting tools I made from a straight pin. It had a wider head so it made the dots a bit wider than normal 🙂

  2. Really cute – and looks super easy that maybe I too even could do this!

  3. Pingback: ManiMagic- GoGoUSA « Made In The 80s

  4. So cute!! I can’t wait to try this for the fourth!!

  5. I love dotted design for my nails. I really like the combinations of colors. Perfect match. Thank you so significantly for offering a lot of helpful content. Keep it up.

  6. Pingback: Stars & Stripes: Patriotic Nail Designs | # Bubbly

  7. Pingback: Nail Art: Election Nail Ideas! | The Daily Varnish

  8. Pingback: Election Day Nails! | The Daily Varnish

  9. Pingback: Nail Art: Top 10 of 2012 (+ top DIYs!) | The Daily Varnish

  10. Pingback: 2012 Round Up and Top Posts (+ the best manicure I never posted) | The Daily Varnish

  11. This is just too cute!

Leave a Reply

