Tried the Trend: Border Nails

So…..border nails have kind of become the new thing. Presumably it’s going to be big a big trend for summer so I wanted to give the look a try.

One thing that is great about this trend is that it is easy! All that has to be done to achieve border nails is to draw a thin border of contrasting color around the outside of the nail. Of course, nail art polish or a nail art brush is required, but otherwise no special tools are needed.

For my first border nail manicure I used H&M Pink Me Up as the main color and outlined it in black (the nail art polish I used was LA Colors Art Deco in black). I wore it for a couple of days and even tweeted that I wasn’t so sure about the whole border nails thing.

To really know my feelings on this trend I wanted to try it with completely different colors. So for my second border nails manicure I used China Glaze Towel Boy Toy as my main color and outlined the nails in white. I can honestly say I hated that manicure!

The one great thing about this trend is it is an easy way to kind of slap a band-aid on a manicure that has seen better days. My China Glaze Towel Boy Toy manicure had a bit of tip wear bur after I slapped on the white border it looked good as new.

I’m still not totally sold on this trend. But I don’t hate it. I think it has the potential to grow on me. What do y’all think about border nails? Let me know if you give it a try! The one tip I can offer if you do plan to try this trend is the thinner the lines around the nail the better.

Tons more pictures below the jump 🙂

17 responses to “Tried the Trend: Border Nails

  1. I’m not sure about this trend either. But I love the colors you chose. That nude is lively with the black!

  2. I love the nude and black, not so much the blue and white. I think I’ll try this myself, but without the top line. Maybe it would look better if it wasn’t a complete square.

  3. This look just doesn’t make sense to me. It doesn’t have an artistic design, but it doesn’t reflect the nail organically at all, the way a “funky french” takes a cue from the natural stripe at the top of the nail. Instead, it just makes me think of dirty or stained nail beds!

    • I can see that. It definitely doesn’t so anything to flatter the nail.

      • All that being said, I do really, really like the nude and black color combo. I think it would make a chic “funky french.” (Too chic for the term funky french, which I think is kinda goofy. It would be a high-fashion french!)

  4. Nope, no fan of it. It makes fingernails look wide and stumpy…. 😛

  5. Man, I wish I’d seen this post before I painted my nails. Now I’m gonna have to wait. Lol!

  6. I have short nails to begin with, so i feel if i did this it may look super odd. Also, those stupid stripers never work for me, i’m like a klutz with them. I always revert to using a toothpic to draw lines or what not. I think they look great on you! totally loving the nude and black! maybe i’ll try them….one day lol

  7. Pingback: Celeb Nails: Ke$ha’s Super Trendy Manicure | The Daily Varnish

  8. Pingback: Nailspiration: Chanel | The Daily Varnish

  9. Pingback: Nail Art: Top 10 of 2012 (+ top DIYs!) | The Daily Varnish

Leave a Reply

