Revlon ColorStay Buttercup

It’s back! My hunt for the perfect yellow nail polish. Last Spring and Summer produced a couple good candidates, but nothing completely won me over. So my hunt has begun again. I was watching a video over on amarixe‘s YouTube channel and she mentioned how much she liked Buttercup and that the formula was good. That is a rarity in the world of yellow nail polish so I just had to give it a try.

Buttercup is a creamy pale yellow creme. The color is really quite nice. It’s not  bright and just perfectly subtle. That being said, like most yellows, this does give me the dreaded lobster hands. But it’s not terribly noticeable in real life, so I’m not going to worry too much about that!

Now, as for the formula. I was quite impressed. Yellow polishes have notoriously bad formulas, but this formula is really rather nice. I did have to use 3 coats, but it wasn’t terrible thin or runny.

For more info on the ColorStay line (including brush pictures!) check out my post on Vintage Rose.

12 responses to “Revlon ColorStay Buttercup

  1. Have you tried Orly’s Lemonade? I like that one a lot

  2. I don’t have a single yellow in my collection. Maybe this is a good start! Thanks for sharing.
    Lauren

  3. Sunday I spent a half hour in Kmart trying every single yellow they had over my DISASTROUSLY assy 4-coats-and-still-streaky NYC Taxi Yellow Creme. The boyfriend was having kittens lol “you cant do that!!!”. I ended up leaving with 10 different shades of sunny on my nails, and one in my bag. Sally Hansen HD in Lite. It’s a stronger sunny yellow, so it probably wouldnt work for you, however I went in CVS today, and they had Lite AND another HD yellow called Hue. In the bottle, it looks like a shiny, slightly glittery version of the NYC bottle, which is a HUGE win if it applies as nicely as Lite did!!

  4. Have you tried China Glaze Lemon Fizz? It’s probably my favorite yellow. The formula isn’t too bad for a yellow, and I really love the color.

    • You know, now that you mention Lemon Fizz, I have heard other people say good things about that polish. I’ll definitely check it out. Thanks!

  5. Pingback: Nailspiration: Macaroons! | The Daily Varnish

  6. Pingback: Revlon ColorStay Provence | The Daily Varnish

  7. I’ve been stalking Walmart and Shoppers Drug Mart for this colour ever since I first watched that video too 🙂 every display of the Colorstay line never has Buttercup, just some hot pinks and green. ( the green is called Spanish Moss, looks gorgeous!) I guess everyone wants to try these out!

Leave a Reply

