Alli’s Favs: Essie Damsel in a Dress

I can’t believe this is my first Essie post in my Alli’s Favs series! Truthfully, my Essie shelf is one of my favorites. But anyways, Damsel in a Dress was originally released as part of Essie’s Winter 2008 The Color Fits collection but is now part of Essie’ permanent line.

Essie describes Damsel in a Dress as “oh-so-deep iridescent currant.” Iridescent is the perfect word to describe this polish. It’s a very deep reddish purple with tiny silver microglitter. But the microglitter kind of sits on top of the polish giving it that iridescent appearance. I really love this polish. It reminds me quite a bit of a slightly less red version of OPI Yes…I Can-Can!.

The only negative with this polish is the formula. It’s not extremely thin, but it is thin and therefore you have to be very careful to avoid bald spots.

Why Essie Damsel in a Dress is a favorite: Mainly the name, but also the finish. I love the play on such a classic theme as damsel in distress and quite frankly I’d rather be a damsel in a dress! Also, the finish is pretty unique. I don’t have another polish in  my collection with quite the same finish.

Four down, 85 to go!

 

 

To see other Alli’s Favs click here

2 responses to “Alli’s Favs: Essie Damsel in a Dress

  1. What a great shade. From the pix I’ve seen online, it looks kind of like Vampsterdam by OPI (Holland 2012). Anyone seen both ‘in person’? I love dramatic polishes!

Leave a Reply

