OPI Speak for Your-Elf

I can’t be the only one that thinks What the Elf!? would have been a far superior name! But I digress, Speak for Your-Elf  is one of Ulta’s OPI holiday exclusive polishes. I got this as part of the Deck Your Nails mini set. When I first looked at the mini set this was probably the polish I was least excited about (How’s it Snowin’? being the polish I was most excited about,,,). It looked like something I’d seen before. But, turns out, nothing in my collection is a dead on dupe!

Speak for Your-Elf is a pinkish red jelly (or, if you’re OPI, sorbet) backed with small fakes of red glitter. So gorgeous! Pictures cannot do it justice.

Because Speak for Your-Elf is a jelly, three coats are definitely required. But otherwise, I have no complaints about the application.

Orly Last Dance and OPI Ali’s Big Break are rather similar to this polish, but are not dupes. Last Dance has a slightly lighter base, though the glitter is almost identical. Ali’s Big Break also has a lighter base, and the glitter is smaller and more pink than red. Another polish that is a potential dupe is China Glaze Ruby Slippers, but I don’t own that to compare the two.

Tons more pictures below the jump!

4 responses to “OPI Speak for Your-Elf

  1. Does using the Seche Vite topcoat make your jelly polishes have an awful bubbling-up-under-the-surface effect? I recently bought Deborah Lippmann’s Yellow Brick Road (my first jelly polish actually), and it was awesome… Until the next morning when it looked completely weird like bubbles had formed under the surface. Anyone else have this problem with Seche vite and jelly polishes?? I haven’t had time to re-do them without a topcoat yet.

  2. Pingback: OPI A Sparkle Yule Love « The Daily Varnish

  3. I just used Speak for Your-elf for the first time…I’m so in love! Last week, ULTA had a “Buy 2, get an Exclusive Holiday OPI Free”, and I was not impressed while attempting to choose. I went with this one…even though I have so many reds…and I’m so glad I did! I also thought it would be overly-“Christmas-y” (if that’s a word) but it’s just so gorgeous, I think I’ll be wearing it all year long!

Leave a Reply

