Nailspiration: Orchid

I love orchids. While they aren’t my favorite flower, they are definite high on the list. So when I spotted a Marie Claire beauty editorial for an international edition of the magazine I was immediately drawn to this particular shot. The translation of the orchid to makeup is just gorgeous! I figured I try it in a manicure 🙂

For the darkest color I used Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Pacific Blue. Then for the lighter color I used China Glaze Secret Peri-wink-le. And then to represent the center of the orchid I used SinfulColors Pull Over.

I ended up having mixed feelings about this manicure. Out of context the color scheme makes little to no sense. My boyfriend asked me why my middle nail was a different color from the rest. After trying to explain the orchid thing he was looking at me like I had 2 heads. But I did like the color scheme since I was aware of the origin!

7 responses to “Nailspiration: Orchid

  1. This is so pretty! I love it!

  2. I see my little iris in these shades as well as some kinds of orchids too. But I get traditional little iris every year that return this shade with that same yellow/orange middle and sometimes a touch of white next to the middle.

  3. Firstly, WAR EAGLE (and go heels). Secondly, I love this! The interpretation of it is great, really unique!

  4. Maybe if you Tried to condense the color scheme so every color was present on every nail? Pacific Blue as the base, a larger stripe of Peri-wink-le, then a small stripe of Pull Over?

Leave a Reply

