Sally Hansen Barracuda

This is the first polish in a very long time that I just HAD to have. Sally Hansen released a limited edition Summer 2011 Tracy Reese for Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure collection and all the hype was about Barracuda. Everything I heard or saw about it made me want it more! I finally spotted a display at Rite Aid but of course they were sold out of Barracuda. I went to 5 different drug stores and finally found a Rite Aid that had one bottle of left. I was ridiculously excited.

So, to say the least, my expectations were quite high. Luckily I was not disappointed. Barracuda is a gorgeous pale blue creme with the slightest hint of green. The formula is a tad thin; I definitely needed three coats. But it wasn’t runny or difficult to work with. I found the wear from this polish to be fabulous. On day 3 of this manicure I decided to try Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat in Fractured Foil on top. I ended up LOVING that combo. Pictures of that are below the jump 🙂

I have a few nail polishes that are similar to this one, but no dupes. Revlon Blue Lagoon is similar in color, but has shimmer (the Revlon is a much better dupe for Chanel Riva). Finger Paints Tiffany Imposter (or China Glaze For Audrey) both have quite a bit more green in them and OPI What’s With the Cattitude? is a more true blue.

When I was wearing this polish I got SO many compliments. I really do love it. I can see myself wearing this alot on my tips and toes throughout the Summer months 🙂

Don’t forget there are more pictures below the jump.

 

 

I love this combo. I applied Fractured Foil a little differently then I did in my original post. My biggest complaint with Fractured Foil was the lack of crackle. Sure, it crackled some, but not enough for my taste. So when I applied it over Barracuda I used short strokes starting at the base of the nail and made my way to the tip. This provided a much better crackle effect. (Hopefully that makes sense….)

14 responses to “Sally Hansen Barracuda

  1. Great color! reminds me of Chanel Riva. And liking the Sally Hansen crackle. I tried the gold recently and thought it was just OK, I like this one better!

  2. Barracuda is a gorgeous color. I have it, but haven’t worn it yet. It looks amazing with the silver.

    I honestly don’t care for SH shatter polish. I have it in the violet/purple color & to me, it seemed to streak more than shatter. 😦

  3. Pingback: Avon Blue Shock « The Daily Varnish

  4. Pingback: Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure Coral Fever « The Daily Varnish

  5. I wasn’t lucky enough to get this color. 😦 Every store I walked into had an empty display. It’s GORGEOUS though!! Do you know of any dupes for it?

  6. Pingback: Alli’s Top 10 of 2011 « The Daily Varnish

  7. Pingback: SinfulColors Cinderella | The Daily Varnish

  8. Pingback: Celeb Nails: Taylor Swift | The Daily Varnish

  9. Pingback: Hard Candy Jelly Bean Blue | The Daily Varnish

  10. Pingback: JulieG Sugar Rush | The Daily Varnish

  11. Pingback: Tag! Colors of the Rainbow | The Daily Varnish

Leave a Reply

