Revlon Top Speed Emerald

Revlon Top Speed EmeraldI am hopeless. I swore off Revlon’s Top Speed line after my less than stellar experience with Royal. I just don’t see the point in paying $6 for a quick dry nail polish that dries SLOW! But, alas, I was out and about one day and happened to be wearing Essie Going Incognito. I love Going Incognito but it is a bit dark for Spring. Emerald appeared to be Going Incognito’s lighter cousin. So, of course, I just HAD to have it.

Emerald is a gorgeous medium green creme and the formula is FANTASTIC! It was very easy to apply and one coat is almost enough, though I did use two (initially….).

Revlon claims that these polishes set in 60 seconds. Well, I learned from Royal that really wasn’t the case, but I decided to give the quick dry thing another try with Emerald. I used two coats and didn’t do much of anything for a good 30 minutes to give it time to dry. To this polish’s credit, it does dry nice and shiny, so a top coat isn’t needed for shine. It felt dry to the touch, so I continued on with my day. I didn’t do anything crazy with my hands (I was putting on my makeup, not washing dishes….) yet I still ended up with huge dents and nicks. I ended up having to use a third coat and applying a top coat on top. Once I did that, this dried very quickly!

So, moral of the story, don’t count on this polish drying quickly. I do love this color, though, and the formula is truly fantastic.

2 responses to “Revlon Top Speed Emerald

  1. Pingback: OPI Jade is the New Black dupe; Revlon Emerald « The Daily Varnish

  2. Pingback: Winter 2013: Must Have Polishes | The Daily Varnish

Leave a Reply

