Newspaper Print Manicure

The idea for this little experiment originates with my brother, believe it or not. He is aware and somewhat supportive of my nail polish obsession. So one day when he saw a friend with newspaper print on her nails he inquired and passed along the idea to me.

I used China Glaze Pelican Gray as the base for the manicure. The base color must be completely dry before moving on to transferring the newsprint to the nail.

Next I cut newspaper into small pieces. Soaked a piece at a time in alcohol then pressed the newspaper on the nail. It’s very much like working with a temporary tattoo. After a short time (under a minute) I pulled back the newspaper slowly. The newspaper print transferred to the nail. I immediately applied a top coat to avoid the newsprint rubbing off the nail.

Overall I like the effect and it was super simple to do. Nail art doesn’t get much easier than this! Next time I attempt this I will definitely make sure to press the newspaper more evenly on the nail. But for a first shot, I think this turned out just fine 🙂

19 responses to “Newspaper Print Manicure

  1. Very cool! I need to try this – thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. This is TOO cool! I’m definitely going to have to try this one!

  3. Very cool! 🙂 I still need to try this design.

  4. Thats awesome that your brother supports you! I love how he gave you the idea and I had no idea how easy it is!

  5. I love it! I’m gonna try it out over…Sand Tropez.

  6. This looks awesome! I actually like that the words are completely even across the nails, it gives it a neat look. I would love to try this with a shimmery, pale base color.

    • Uhhh…sorry I meant AREN’T completely even. 😦 That’s what you get for being distracted by work and writing comments at the same time.

      • Haha, that’s fine. I got what you were saying 🙂

        I think this would look really pretty with a pale blue or purple as a base. There are so many possibilities with this kind of nail art, I love it.

  7. Pingback: Nail Art: Crossword Puzzle Manicure « The Daily Varnish

  8. love the idea NEED to try this i wonder if you put like a pink nail polish under the newspaper, it would look super cool too i bet

  9. Pingback: Nail Art: Top 10 of 2011 « The Daily Varnish

  10. Pingback: DIY Newspaper Print Manicure | The Daily Varnish

  11. Super neat! Do you think it would work with words printed on regular copy paper?

  12. Reblogged this on wisdom, greatness, & a touch of glitter and commented:
    awesome idea! definitely trying it this weekend

Leave a Reply

