Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Pronto Purple

Sally Hansen Pronto PurpleThis is one of those polishes I looked at almost everytime I was in the drugstore but never picked up. I’m drawn to the color yet for some reason I kept talking myself out of buying it. Well, I kind of wish I had continued to talk myself out of buying it!

Pronto Purple is a red based purple with red and blue microglitter. Sound familiar? Yes!? I have many nail polishes that I would describe the same way. Anyway, I’ll get back to that later. There is nothing wrong with this color, it’s a very pretty color. The formula is wonderful; very opaque. This could be a one coater, but I did two.

Even though the formula is great, I’m not in love with the application of this product. I’ve never used a polish from Sally Hansen’s Insta-Dri line. I knew the brush was large, and that’s fine, I like large brushes. But the hole in the top of the bottle is barely big enough to fit the wand. I found that to be frustrating, but not near as frustrating as the wand/brush combo. No matter how much product I tried to get off the brush before applying it to my nail I always, ALWAYS ended up with fair too much polish. This caused bubble issues. And I hate bubbles! Also the wear wasn’t great. I had significant chipping on the second day of wear and this polish dents really easily.

Aside from all the issues I had with this polish, I do like it. The color is very, very similar to China Glaze Stella and Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Plum Power, but it dries really quickly. I do like the idea of having a quick dry polish in one of my go to shades of polish in case I need to do a super fast manicure.

Sorry that was a really long winded review, but I hope it was helpful 🙂

3 responses to “Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Pronto Purple

  1. Pingback: Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Mint Sprint « The Daily Varnish

  2. Ugh – I HATE the insta dry line as a whole!!! The brush is way too big for me and always it ends in disaster – don’t even get me started on those bubbles. This post almost mirrors my experiences, I’ve made the mistake of buying it more than once and each time I attempted application and the promptly chucked the bottles away.

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one! I bought one other Insta-Dri polish the same day as this one. I definitely have no plans to purchase anymore from this line.

Leave a Reply

