Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure Wear Test

It’s no secret I’m not a fan of the Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure line. I had a bad experience with Fairy Teal, and an average experience with Gray by Gray. For a polish that claims to include all 5 manicure steps in one bottle (base coat, strengthener, growth treatment, color and top coat) and costs anywhere from $7 to $10 for a drugstore brand, I expect alot.

So after applying Plum Luck I decided I’d give this line another chance to impress me and do a wear test. Per the bottle instructions I did not use a top coat (I did use a base coat due to the smurf nails incident with Fairy Teal).

I change my manicure almost everyday. Sometimes I’ll go two days. But never, NEVER do I wear a polish for 4 days. I can’t stand tip wear and I absolutely hate chipped nail polish. So that is the mindset I’m coming from.

The wear from this polish is probably one of the better things about it. My nails still looked perfect at the end of day 2. Most of the time when I wear a polish 2 days I have small chips and/or significant tip wear. By the end of day 3 I did want to change out my manicure. I had tip wear and some chipping.

I give credit where credit is due. This polish wears extremely well. I did touch ups on my right hand (non picture hand) on day 4 and could have easily worn it another day.

Does this change my opinion of the Complete Salon Manicure line? Yes and no. I’m glad to know this polish has at least one good quality that somewhat justifies the ridiculous price tag. For someone like me who likes to change their polish often, this polish still isn’t worth the price.

I hope this post was helpful. Let me know if y’all like posts like this. I know it’s a bit different for this blog, but if y’all like it/find it helpful I can do more like it in the future 🙂

7 responses to “Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure Wear Test

  1. I agree with you, I’ve been less than impressed with this line as well.

  2. Aww, I love this line! I wish it had worked out better for you.

  3. I enjoy posts like this because I really do think there’s a huge difference in the brands when it comes to wear and chipping. I do NOT change my nail polish every day and I really only want to spend my time using polishes that wear better. Thanks for doing this!

  4. Pingback: Wear Test: Revlon ColorStay Longwear Nail Enamel | The Daily Varnish

  5. this nail polish line i paid 12 dollars for a bottle at walmart and i seen 2 days ago the same line in our local dollarama for 2 bucks a bottle i stocked up. and there was nothing wrong with the cheap bottle idk why they were there maybe a misprint on a label or out of season.. idk i like this line it wears great for me. i live in canada if that helps any?

    • Sally Hansen is in the process of revamping their Complete Salon Manicure line. So all the polishes in the “old” line are being discontinued and they are bringing out new polishes (though the bottles look exactly the same….).

      From what I could tell the Complete Salon Manicure line is one of Sally Hansen’s most popular lines so I have no idea why they are doing the revamp. Either way, good news for us because we can find the discontinued shades for cheap!

Leave a Reply

