Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure Plum Luck

Sally Hansen Plum LuckI have a problem. You see, I swore off the Complete Salon Manicure line after my horrifying experience with Fairy Teal (semi permanent smurf nails are NOT FUN). That plan really just hasn’t worked out. I managed to talk myself into buying Gray by Gray (I was having a slate blue moment) and now here I am with a bottle of Plum Luck. Everytime I looked at polish at the drugstore I picked up this polish and quickly put it back down. The last thing I need in my life is a dark purple creme that costs way too much to be a drug store brand and does nothing it promises. But, Plum Luck was on clearance at CVS (I’ve also spotted it on clearance at Wal-Mart) and I talked myself into purchasing it.

There’s nothing special about Plum Luck. It is a dark purple creme (though not LPAM/LPAD dark). It has enough brown in it so that it doesn’t appear to be black in low light. Even though this really is nothing special, I don’t have a dupe of it in my collection.

Application was subpar. Sally Hansen claims that this is a two coater polish. I used four. I had problems with bald spots (you can still see one on my pinky finger). While the formula is thin, it’s not runny.

This is supposed to be a five in one polish (base coat, strengthener, growth treatment, color, top coat). I will never not use a base coat with this line of polishes after my experience with Fairy Teal, but I did forego my usual top coat. I did my nails several hours before I went to bed and woke up with bed nails. So this definitely does not dry quickly.

As far as wear goes, I am in the middle of doing a wear test with this polish, so I’ll be doing a post on that in a few days (I wanted to get this post up in case anyone wanted to try and grab this polish on clearance). I’m currently on day 3 and I’m getting a little twitchy. Three days with the same polish!? Not ok! I’m hoping to make it through at least another day.

3 responses to “Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure Plum Luck

  1. Although I did have a bad experience with blue nails after using Calypso Blue (and will therefore never use that color again) but I really like Touch of Mink, Plum’s the Word, and Thinking of Blue. Maybe you were putting the coats on too thick? They’ve all been two-coaters that dry fairly quick for me with Seche Vite on top.

    • The other two polishes I have from this line were two coaters, this formula was just not up to par with the others I have.

      As for the dry time; this line claims that you do not need a top coat. I was testing out that theory. If I had used my normal top coat (Essie Good to Go) I would obviously not have had issues with the dry time.

  2. Pingback: Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure Wear Test « The Daily Varnish

Leave a Reply

