Essie Smokin’ Hot dupe: Nina Ultra Pro Never Glum Plum

Essie Smokin’ Hot is definitely the stand out color from Essie’s Winter 2010 A Winter’s Tale collection. As soon as I spotted the display in stores I grabbed it. Too bad I didn’t know I already had the exact same color in my collection!

A comment from my original Essie Smokin’ Hot post actually made me connect these two polishes. Someone asked if Essie Smokin’ Hot was close to Chanel Paradoxal. I replied suggesting she look into Nina Ultra Pro Never Glum Plum because it had more purple in it. I don’t know what I was thinking because when I pulled out my bottle of Never Glum Plum they looked EXACTLY the same. And they are. I could not tell the difference between the two on my nails.

Never Glum Plum has a superior formula to Smokin’ Hot. It’s thicker and doesn’t leave bald spots. I used three coats of both in the comparison.

Nina Ultra Pro Polishes can be found at Sally Beauty Supply. They are general $3-$4 (Sally often runs sales). Essie costs over twice that. So this is a no brainer. If you love the look of Essie Smokin’ Hot, grab a bottle of Nina Ultra Pro Never Glum Plum instead 🙂

More pictures below the jump.

Alli

13 responses to “Essie Smokin’ Hot dupe: Nina Ultra Pro Never Glum Plum

  1. Great comparison! I’ve been debating about Smokin’ Hot even though I own Never Glum Plum. Thanks for posting.

  2. I agree- now I know I don’t need to get Smokin’ Hot 🙂

  3. Pingback: Gloomy Weather Half Moon Manicure « The Daily Varnish

  4. Pingback: Sally Hansen – Grey Area (& Never Glum Plum comparison) « The Daily Varnish

  5. Pingback: Alli’s Best of 2010 « The Daily Varnish

  6. thank you thank you thank you! this blog is great… i was just contemplating spending ~$9 on smokin’ hot because i can’t find it anywhere in stores, until i saw this – heading to sally’s!

  7. Pingback: Polka Dot Manicure « The Daily Varnish

  8. Pingback: Celeb Nails: Lauren Conrad « The Daily Varnish

  9. Pingback: Essie Go Overboard « The Daily Varnish

  10. Pingback: Essie Go Overboard « The Daily Varnish

  11. Pingback: Nail Art: The Sideways French Manicure | The Daily Varnish

Leave a Reply

